Introduction of Chinese cuisines

yong Yang Written by yong Yang · 3 min read >

China, is one of the oldest countries all over the world, with more than 5000 years of history and splendid culture. Who contribute a lot to the whole world. I’d like to pick up the food culture China contributed to and attracted all the people on the earth. There are so many kinds of cuisines but developed as very famous Chinese top eight Cuisines after many years precipitation with very obviously character. The major eight Cuisines include Shandong cuisine, Sichuan cuisine, Cantonese cuisine, Suzhou cuisine, Fujian cuisine, Zhejiang cuisine, Hunan cuisine, and Anhui cuisine. Among them, Shandong Cuisine, Sichuan Cuisine, Cantonese Cuisine, and Su Cuisine were formed in the early Qing Dynasty and became the most influential local dishes at that time, and were called “Four Cuisines”. By the end of the Qing Dynasty, four new local cuisines of Zhejiang, Fujian, Hunan, and Anhui were differentiated and formed, which together constituted the “eight major cuisines” of the Chinese traditional diet. I’d like to give you some provide some summary for these eight Cuisines.

1. Shandong cuisine — salty and fresh, thick oily red sauce

Shandong cuisine, the Qilu flavor that originated in Shandong, is one of the four traditional Chinese cuisines. below is an example.

2. Sichuan cuisine—heavy oil, heavy salt, spicy and fragrant

Sichuan cuisine is famous for its wide selection of materials, varied seasonings, various dishes, fresh and mellow tastes, and good use of spicy and spicy seasonings. Mainly home-cooked dishes, most of which are made from daily flavors. Its characteristics are that the red flavor is numb, spicy, and fragrant, and the white flavor is salty and fresh with a little spicy.

3. Cantonese cuisine —- original, salty, fresh, light

Cantonese cuisine’s ingredients are rich, the ingredients are finely selected, and the skills are excellent. It is clear but not bland, fresh but not vulgar, tender but not raw, oily but not greasy. Good at frying, it is required to master the heat and oil temperature just right. It is also compatible with many western dishes and pays attention to the momentum and grade of the dishes. Chaozhou cuisine originated in the Chaoshan area. Known for cooking seafood, soups, vegetarian dishes, and beets are the most distinctive. Fine workmanship and pure taste. Dongjiang Cuisine originated in the Hakka-inhabited areas in the Dongjiang area of ​​Guangdong Province. The dishes are mostly meat, with very few aquatic products. The main ingredients are prominent, and they are fragrant, heavy in oil, and salty. They are known for casserole dishes and have a unique local flavor.

4. Su Cai—Sweet, Yellow Wine Flavor

It is mainly composed of local dishes such as Jinling cuisine, Huaiyang cuisine, Suxi cuisine, and Xuhui cuisine. Su Cai is good at stewing, braising, steaming, and frying. It attaches great importance to the soup and keeps the original juice of the dish. The flavor is fresh, thick but not greasy, light but not thin, crispy, and boneless without losing its shape. lose its taste.

5. Fujian cuisine — salty and sweet (south), spicy (north)

Fujian cuisine is famous for cooking delicacies from mountains and seas. On the basis of excellent color, aroma, and shape, it is especially good at “fragrance” and “flavor”. It has a unique place in the cooking altar garden. The three major characteristics of Fujian cuisine are: one is seasoning with red grains, the other is soup making, and the third is the use of sweet and sour.

6. Anhui cuisine—heavy oil, heavy salt

Anhui cuisine is good at cooking, stewing, and steaming, but less fried and fried dishes, heavy oil, color, and fire. The cooking method is to use local materials to win with freshness. Anhui is rich in mountain, game, river, and fresh poultry, and the local materials are used to make the dishes stand out and ensure freshness. The second is to make good use of the heat, and the firepower is unique. According to the texture characteristics of different raw materials and the flavor requirements of the finished dishes, the dishes are cooked on high, medium, and low heat respectively. The third is to be adept at cooking and stewing, and the shades are suitable. In addition to blasting, stir-frying, leavening, deep-frying, stewing, boiling, roasting, simmering, and other techniques, it is famous for its roasting, stewing, smoked and steamed dishes. Fourth, pay attention to nature and nourish the body with food.

7. Hunan cuisine—heavy oil, heavy salt, heavy spicy, preserved meat

Hunan cuisine is finely made, with a wide range of ingredients, varied tastes, and a wide variety of varieties; the color is oily, heavy, and rich, and it is affordable; the taste focuses on spicy, fresh, soft, and tender; the method of preparation is simmering, stewing, waxing, steaming, Known for frying various methods.

8. Zhejiang cuisine – strong sauce flavor

Zhejiang cuisine has four characteristics: careful selection of ingredients, unique cooking, emphasis on original flavor, and meticulous preparation. The selection of materials is engraved with “fine, special, fresh, tender.” In terms of cooking methods, the six types of cooking methods are fried, deep-fried, braised, leavened, steamed, and roasted. The taste focuses on freshness, crispness, and tenderness, maintaining the true color and true taste of the raw materials. The dishes are exquisite in shape, delicate and delicate, and elegant.

Summary: Chinese cuisine is broad and profound, it is too difficult to describe that exactly, the best way is to explore and experience that. Welcome to China.

EMBA-27 Jason.YANG

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: